John Carter’s Chronicles of Mars

Collected here in this oversized omnibus edition are seven novels of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs: ‘A Princess of Mars,’ ‘Gods Of Mars,’ ‘Warlords of Mars,’ ‘Thuvia, Maid of Mars,’ ‘The Chessmen of Mars,’ ‘The Master Mind of Mars,’ and ‘A Fighting Man of Mars.’ These novels will transport you to a lush Mars that never was. A Mars filled with strange and wonderful flora and fauna; giants and monsters, and most importantly maidens in distress and fabulous adventures. Join John Carter as he explores this fantastic milieu.

People That Time Forgot

Edgar Rice Burroughs was born on September 1, 1875, in Chicago, Illinois. His early career was unremarkable. After failing to enter West Point he enlisted in the 7th Calvary but was discharged after heart problems were diagnosed. A series of short term jobs gave no indication as to a career path but finally, in 1911, married and with two young children, he turned his hand to writing. He aimed his works squarely at the very popular pulp serial magazines. His first effort ‘Under The Moons Of Mars’ ran in Munsey’s Magazine in 1912 under the pseudonym Norman Bean. With its success he began writing full time. A continuing theme of his work was to develop series so that each character had ample opportunities to return in sequels. John Carter was in the Mars series and there was another on Venus and one on Pellucidar among others. But perhaps the best known is Tarzan. Indeed Burroughs wanted so much to capitalise upon the brand that he introduced a syndicated Tarzan comic strip, movies and merchandise. He purchased a large ranch north of Los Angeles, California, which he named &quote;Tarzana.&quote; The surrounding communities outside the ranch voted in 1927 to adopt the name as their own. By 1932 Burroughs set up his own company to print his own books. Here we publish ‘The People That Time Forgot’ a wonderfully crafted piece of science fiction that has endured as a favourite across generations.

Outlaw of Torn

Trajectory presents classics of world literature with 21st century features! Our original-text editions include the following visual enhancements to foster a deeper understanding of the work: Word Clouds at the start of each chapter highlight important words. Word, sentence, paragraph counts, and reading time help readers and teachers determine chapter complexity. Co-occurrence graphs depict character-to-character interactions as well character to place interactions. Sentiment indexes identify positive and negative trends in mood within each chapter. Frequency graphs help display the impact this book has had on popular culture since its original date of publication. Use Trajectory analytics to deepen comprehension, to provide a focus for discussions and writing assignments, and to engage new readers with some of the greatest stories ever told. &quote;The Outlaw of Torn&quote; by Edgar Rice Burroughs is an historical story that takes place in medieval England and France. Sir Jules De Vac seeks retaliation and abducts Prince Richard, the second son of King Henry III.

John Carter of Mars, Volume Two

Travel to Mars, known by its inhabitants as Barsoom, in books four, five, and six of Edgar Rice Burroughs’s classic science fiction series. Featuring Carthoris, John Carters son, and Thuvia of Ptarth, Thuvia, Maid of Mars is the thrilling story of the kidnapping and war ignited by Carthoriss unrequited love for Thuvia, who is engaged to another. In The Chessmen of Mars, Burroughs tells the story of Tara, daughter of John Carter and Dejah Thoris, who, along with her suitor Prince Gahan, is forced into a life-threatening game of Jetan. The Master Mind of Mars introduces the hero Ulysses Paxton, an Earthman sent to Mars by astral projection. Taken in by the eldery Ras Thavas, Ulysses takes on the name Vad Varo and is trained to transplant brains. Edgar Rice Burroughss Barsoom series helped define the science fiction genre and inspired many well-known sci-fi writers including Ray Bradbury and Arthur C. Clarke. The books have been adapted for film and comic strips. HarperPerennial Classics brings great works of literature to life in digital format, upholding the highest standards in ebook production and celebrating reading in all its forms. Look for more titles in the HarperPerennial Classics collection to build your digital library.

Pellucidar SF Gateway Omnibus

From the vaults of The SF Gateway, the most comprehensive digital library of classic SFF titles ever assembled, comes an ideal introduction to the fantastic worlds of one of the greatest adventure writers of all time, Edgar Rice Burroughs. The son of a Civil War veteran, Edgar Rice Burroughs was a prolific writer for the early pulp magazines. Famous the world over as the creator of Tarzan — and in SF circles for his Martian tales featuring John Carter — Burroughs is a household name. But there was more to him than apemen and four-armed Martians! This omnibus collects his tales of the world within a hollow Earth: At the Earth’s Core, Pellucidar and Tanar of Pellucidar.